of color
Comments 5

African americans and nude beaches?

I was having a conversation recently with another African American nudist about the the virtue of African Americans getting tanned in the sun. Conversation went something like this.
THEM: I am dark enough already.
ME: Don’t you want a full even color?
THEM: Don’t the dark areas just get darker?
ME: Good point

Many white nudists relish the opportunity to get a deep dark all over tan at the nude beach or resort. But what is the draw for African Americans. Many of us don’t really go very far into the water since often African Americans, especially urban dwellers have not learned how to swim. Nor do we do many water activities that involve getting covered by water, (black women often try to keep their hair intact). Now I know these are generalizations, I am proof of that, I can swim, I lay out in the sun. But they are reasonable generalizations that beg the question what are the benefits of going to a nude beach or resort for African Americans. Maybe understanding this can help in understanding the small amount of African Americans who practice nudism.

Share your thoughts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments

  1. tallandnaturel says

    I have been always been that brown child in the sun. Looked aboriginal because my jheri curl went blond. (Hey! It was the eighties.) I’ve found a happiness, personal growth and a healing in being nude. I’ve had a lifetime love affair with the ocean, sand and sun and water. Naturally I should be at the beach telling you I’m having a ball but no, not yet. I have a few more stigmas to get over. To be the only one, or one of a few African Americans on a beach I’ll naturally stand out. I need more self love and confidence, and less thoughts of needing to have the body of an Olympic athlete or a sex goddess. This is the personal challenge of one black sistah…

    Like

  2. Last I knew being a Nudist was not all about getting an ALLOVER tan so that being said MAYBE African American people are not to keen on being a nudist
    I say to each there own…..

    Like

    • I agree nudism is more than that. However a visit to a nude beach is often the introduction of many folks to social nudism and if there is another a real draw to the beach then that could be a limiting factor in having African Americans in nudism.

      Like

Bare your thoughts